Councillor By-Election March 2021

Summary of Results:

Isaac, Howard (Howie) has been elected to Office of Councillor
The term of office is March 23rd, 2021 to July 2, 2023 at 12:00 midnight.
 Candidates for Councillor # of Votes
1. Cheechoo, Gilbert 43
2. Chum-Swallow, Ryanne 5
3. Isaac, Howard (Howie) 69
4. Jeffries, Elaine 11
5. Turner, Walter (Wally) 51
6. Excluded Ballots 7

Total Number of Voters­­­­: ­186


PDF copy of report (March 23, 2021)


Moose Cree First Nation has one (1) vacancy for Councillor. Therefore, a By-election shall be held to fill the vacant Councillor position.

The Council of Moose Cree First Nation accepted the resignation of Councillor Thomas Cheechoo on February 9th, 2021, with regret.


Nominations open (by nomination form only):
February 16, 2021

Nominations close:
February 23, 2021

Deadline for nominees to accept or refuse nominations:
March 2, 2021

Advance Poll – Moose Factory:
March 16, 2021
E.P.R. Centre – 10am to 6pm

Advance Poll – Moosonee:
March 17, 2021
Community Arena – 10am to 6pm

By-Election Day – Moose Factory:
March 23, 2021
E.P.R. Centre – 10am to 6pm

Eligibility to Vote

  1. Must Be a member of Moose Cree First Nation; and
  2. Must be eighteen (18) years of age and over; and
  3. Is not disqualified to vote under the Moose Cree First Nation Election Regulations.

Please refer to the voters list which will be posted publicly.

Chief Electoral Officer

Brittany Weistche-Rickard, Chief Electoral Officer



Moose Cree First Nation
Brittany Weistche-Rickard, Chief Electoral Officer
P.O. Box 810
Moose Factory, ON P0L 1W0

Previous By-Elections

October 2020 By-Election:

Jordan Cheechoo has been elected to Office of Councillor. Helena Cheechoo has been acclaimed to Office of Youth Councillor.

Read Councillor Summary Report.
Read Youth Councillor Summary Report.

August 2020 By-Election:

Pauline M.R. Rickard has been acclaimed to Office of Councillor. The Term of Office commences August 8, 2020 to July 4, 2023.

Read summary report.